OIF introduces “Common Management Interface Specification (CMIS)”

In partnership with Lightwave, the online event will showcase insights from module vendors, system vendors and network vendors, followed by a Q&A session

FREMONT, Calif., September 20, 2022–(BUSINESS WIRE)–OIF continues to lead industry discussions on interoperability efforts through an upcoming webinar, “Common Management Interface (CMIS) Specification – Demystified”, will be held on Tuesday, October 4, 2022 at 8:00 a.m. PDT/10:00 a.m. CDT/11:00 a.m. EDT/4:00 p.m. GMT/5:00 p.m. CEST. The free online event, hosted by light wave, will feature unique insights from industry leaders: Ciena, Cisco, Google and Marvell. Register for this free event.

The webinar, open to the public, will include presentations from module vendors, system vendors and network operators. With expanding deployments and continued feature additions, CMIS is the primary management interface for modules ranging from copper cables to coherent pluggable modules.

“CMIS is a powerful and extensive toolset that provides a well-defined mechanism to initialize and manage optical and copper modules in a standard way while providing the ability to provide custom functionality,” explained Ian Alderdice, OIF Physical & Link Layer (PLL) Working Group (WG) Co-Vice President of Management, Ciena. “This commonality facilitates integration into different host platforms for host and module vendors.”

Understanding the characteristics and implications of the current generation of CMIS and planned future additions is critical whether you are supplying host silicon, module silicon, optics, copper cabling, and whether you are designing and building equipment or are a network operator.

The webinar details and attendees are:

October 4, 2022 – 8:00-9:30 a.m. PDT

8h00 – 8h05 – Welcome & Introduction – Nathan Tracy, OIF Vice President of Marketing, TE Connectivity

8h05 – 8h20 – History of the CMIS & Role of the OIF – Gary Nicholl, Executive Co-Vice Chair of the OIF PLL Working Group and Board Secretary/Treasurer, Cisco Systems

8:20 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. – CMIS High Level Technical Presentation and System Vendor Perspective – Ian Alderdice, Co-Vice Chair of OIF PLL Working Group Leadership, Ciena

8:45 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. – Module Supplier Perspective – Todd Rope, Associate Vice President, Firmware, Optics, Marvell

9:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. – Network operator point of view – An Nguyen, optical transport network engineer, Google

9:15 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. – Q&A – Stephen Hardy, Editorial Director and Associate Editor, light wave

To register for the free event, click here. The webinar is open to the public and a certificate of participation will be offered to you.

About the OIF
The OIF is where the interoperability work of the optical networking industry takes place. Building on nearly 25 years of forward evolution in the industry, OIF represents the dynamic ecosystem of more than 130 leading network operators, system vendors, component vendors and test equipment vendors. plan that collaborate to develop interoperable electrical, optical and control solutions that have a direct impact on the industry. ecosystem and facilitate global connectivity in the open network world. Connect with the OIF on @OIForumon LinkedIn and at http://www.oiforum.com.

See the source version on businesswire.com: https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220920005179/en/

contacts

PR:
Leah Wilkinson
Wilkinson + Associates for OIF
Email: [email protected]
Office: 703-907-0010